Sandra M. Gustafson
University of Notre Dame


Book Review Editor

Marion Rust

University of Kentucky

Advisory Editor

David S. Shields
University of South Carolina

Editorial Assistant
Qingyuan Jiang
University of Notre Dame

Editorial Board
Joanna Brooks (San Diego State University)
Kristina Bross (Purdue University)

Matthew Brown (University of Iowa)
Martin Brückner (University of Delaware)
Elizabeth Maddock Dillon (Northeastern University)
Jim Egan (Brown University)
Joseph Fichtelberg (Hofstra University)
Carla Mulford (Pennsylvania State University)
Anne Myles (University of Northern Iowa)
Phillip Round (University of Iowa)
Susan Scott Parrish (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
Timothy Sweet (West Virginia University)
Lisa B. Voigt (Ohio State University, Columbus)
Colin Wells (St. Olaf College)
Eric Wertheimer (Arizona State University)

Early American Literature, published three times a year, is the journal of the Society of Early Americanists and of the MLA's Division on American Literature to 1800. Its province is American literature through the early national period (about 1830). Founded in 1965, EAL invites work treating Native American traditional expressions, colonial Ibero-American literature from North America, colonial American Francophone writings, Dutch colonial, and German American colonial literature as well as writings in English from British America and the US.



Inviting Nominations for the 2015 Early American Literature Book Prize


Early American Literature Book Prize

CFP for Special Issue on "Early American Disability"

CFP for Special Issue "On Loyalty"

EAL on Muse (includes current issue)


Submissions Guide

Publication Ethics and Malpractice Statement

In Previous Issues of Early American Literature

Last modified 7/3/2014

Copyright by University of North Carolina Press , The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3808