Inviting Nominations for the 2015 Early American Literature Book Prize

In celebration of Early American Literature’s fiftieth anniversary, the first annual Early American Literature Book Prize will go to a monograph by an established scholar.  Scholarly monographs published in 2013 or 2014 that are an author’s second (or later) are eligible for the 2015 prize. The deadline for nominations is January 1, 2015.

First monographs are not eligible for the 2015 prize. Those first monographs that are published in 2014 or 2015 will be eligible for the prize to be awarded in 2016.

Please send a single copy of any books nominated for the 2015 prize to:

Professor Sandra M. Gustafson
Editor, Early American Literature
Department of English
356 O'Shaughnessy Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556

Additional copies of books that make the short list will be requested from the author or the press.

The prize, which carries a $2000 cash award, will be presented at the joint conference of the Society of Early Americanists (SEA) and the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture (OIEAHC), to be held in Chicago on June 18-21, 2015. Additional information about the conference is available on the website:

The book prize selection committee will consist of the journal’s editor, advisory editor, and book review editor, as well as one representative from the SEA, appointed by the SEA executive committee, and one representative from the executive committee for the MLA’s Division on American Literature to 1800.

Inquiries may be directed to Sandra Gustafson at  See also the journal’s website at