Inviting Nominations of Second or Subsequent Books for the 2017 EAL Book Prize

The editors of Early American Literature are pleased to announce the third annual Early American Literature Book Prize, which is given for the best newly released academic book about American literature in the colonial period through the early republic (roughly 1830). The prize is offered in collaboration with the University of North Carolina Press, the Society of Early Americanists, and the MLA's Forum on American Literature to 1800. 

This year's prize will be awarded to an author's SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT book. Monographs published in 2015 or 2016 are eligible for the 2017 prize, which carries a cash award of $2,000.
The deadline for nominations is February 15, 2017. Please send a single copy of any books nominated for the 2017 prize to:
EAL Book Prize
c/o Professor Sandra M. Gustafson
Editor, Early American Literature  
Department of English
University of Notre Dame
356 O'Shaughnessy Hall
Notre Dame, IN 46556
Additional copies of books that make the short list may be requested from the publisher.
The book prize selection committee consists of the journal's editor, advisory editor, and book review editor, as well as one representative from the SEA, appointed by the SEA executive committee, and one representative from the executive committee for the MLA's forum on American literature to 1800.
Inquiries may be directed to Professor Sandra M. Gustafson at